The Eclectic Reader
The Eclectic Reader
Summer Romance Themes & Trends 2023
3
0:00
-18:01

Summer Romance Themes & Trends 2023

romance in a time of recessions, reflections, and cinnamon rolls
3

To wrap up my short summer podcast series on romance novels, I’m sharing broad musings on the genre’s trends, themes, and historical context. I’m getting pretty nerdy in this episode—if you like this conversational literary criticism, I highly recommend checking out my podcast with

: in which we hold educational chats like this one all the time.

Today I’m discussing:

  • historical and social context in relation to romance novels

  • the trend of “wholesome romance”

  • starting over

  • tight-knit friend groups and found families

  • connecting today’s trends with our current moment in history

  • I also reference: Recipe for a Summer Romance 2023

What romance trends and themes have you noticed in your summer reading this year? I would love to discuss this more in the comments with you!

Works Cited

Novel Pairings: Hot takes on the buzzy books of last summer & Summer book releases paired with backlist reads

Chelsey

3 Comments
The Eclectic Reader
The Eclectic Reader
Short reflections on the reading life and the books I can't stop recommending.
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed